“Fun”

Howdy.

There’s one word that keeps reappearing during my studies : “Fun”. What actually constitutes “fun”? Is “fun” objective or just ruled by preferences? I honestly don’t know.

Scott Rogers writes in his book “Level Up! : The guide to great video game design” that he hates “fun”. It’s an innately bad question to ask a game designer if he thinks that his game is “fun”, as he or she can’t possibly know how much “fun” his or her game is. Scott Rogers adds that “When it comes to fun and games I have found there is only one truth: YOU HAVE NO GUARANTEE THAT YOUR GAME IS GOING TO BE FUN“.

“Lazzaro’s Four Keys to Fun” states that there’s four different types of fun (Easy Fun, Hard Fun, People Fun and Serious Fun) with four different types of qualities and attributes. Most best-selling games apparantly has at least three of the four types of fun.

This intrigues me, I’ll most likely write my Scientific Article for the Communications class on this subject.

About perkulatorn

I'm a 21 year old Gamedesign student at Uppsala University Campus Gotland. Creator of: Terminal Flight - Top Down Rogue Game Melvind - Tower Defense (http://doodlemeat.se/ggj13) Totemic - King of the Hill Competitive Game (WIP) Tamarrion - Hardcore RPG (tamarriongame.com , tamarriongame.wordpress.com)

One response to ““Fun”

  1. Asturious

    Das ist gut ja.

Leave a comment